A Perfect Marriage: PB&J Microwave Mug Cake

Unlike most people, PB&J doesn’t remind me of fond childhood afternoons. I never even had tried peanut butter until my teenage years. No, I wasn’t allergic, but my brother was. And no, he didn’t outgrow that allergy when I became a teenager. So why was peanut butter allowed in my house when my brother was still allergic? Well, let’s just say that those were my rebellious years (no, they actually weren’t). The real reason was that my parents weren’t afraid my brother was going to accidentally inhale a jar of peanut butter now that he was older (like that was ever likely). But anyway… let’s make the cake!

IMG_0301

Dump flour, baking powder, sugar, milk, and peanut butter in a mug. I prefer using chunky peanut butter in this cake because it gives added texture and crunch. If you only have smooth peanut butter lying around, you can add chopped peanuts. If you don’t like crunch (and who doesn’t?), omit any chopped peanuts. Whisk until a thick batter forms.

IMG_0297

Drop your favorite jam into the center of the batter in the mug and use any utensil of choice to slightly marble the jam and push the jam mostly below the batter.

IMG_0299

Pop your mug into that magic black box and eat the fluffy deliciousness! (Make sure to wait a couple of minutes or else you’ll burn your mouth. Trust me, I learned this the hard way.) Yum!

IMG_0302

Peanut Butter & Jelly Microwave Mug Cake Recipe

  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour/white whole wheat flour/whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp + 1 tsp granulated sugar
  • 1/4 c. fat-free milk
  • 3 Tbsp peanut butter (I prefer chunky)
  • 1 heaping Tbsp jam
  1. Combine all ingredients except jam in an oversized microwave-safe mug. Mix with a small whisk until batter is smooth.
  2. Drop tablespoon of jam into the center of the batter in the mug, and slightly swirl while pushing the jam below the batter’s surface.
  3. Cook in microwave for ~1 minute. If cake is not done, heat an additional 15 seconds. Let cake cool a few minutes. Cake is best consumed while still warm or within a few hours of it being cooked.
Leave a Reply

