Something Healthy: Matcha-Banana Shake

What do ya know? There’s actually something healthy being posted on Mugs and Makeovers. Good for me! Now I’m not one of those people to eat (or slurp, or drink, or consume, or whatever) things just because they are the latest-and-greatest super-food. I will eat things because they are yummy and make me feel happy. And if that yummy ingredient happens to up that metabolism, then yay! And that’s exactly how I feel about matcha (but seriously, I can’t get enough of this green tea powder; best flavor profile ever!). Fun fact: I was considering naming this blog Matcha, Mugs, and Makeovers. (Come to think of it, why didn’t I?) Anyway, here is a delicious, fresh, fruity, and earthy shake that will refresh you make you glow!

IMG_1014

Okay, so the first step is just to dissolve your matcha powder into a tiny bit of hot water so there is absolutely no lumps in your shake. Tip for buying matcha: the greener, the better. I know this stuff is super pricey, but don’t be cheap! Quality is key!

IMG_0999

Then just add a frozen banana (which gives the shake viscosity as well as chilling it without watering the drink down with ice), milk of your choice, honey/maple syrup, and the matcha solution into a blender. Whirl it up until no lumps of banana remain and serve!

IMG_1003

So as you probably know, I’m super lazy, so I just poured my shake into the bowl I used to dissolve the matcha. That way, I didn’t wasting any matcha left in the bowl, and I din’t have to dirty a glass. (Smart thinking, right?) Yum!

IMG_1011

Matcha-Banana Shake

  • 2 tsp water
  • 1 tsp matcha
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 c. milk of your choice
  • 1 Tbsp honey/maple syrup
  1. Pour the water into a microwavable mug or bowl and microwave until hot. Add the matcha and whisk until no lumps remain.
  2. Add the matcha mixture, frozen banana, milk, and sweetener into a blender and blend until smooth. Serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

