Pumpkin Spice Obsessed: Single-Serving Pumpkin Spice Microwave Cheesecake

Pumpkin spice. That’s probably the first thing I would think of if you said “fall.” Seriously, America is pumpkin spice crazy (and I am proud to admit that I am too)! Pumpkin spice everything, from the quintessential latte, to the humble bagel, to the sweet little donut, and to any and every cookie around. Pumpkin spice has contaminated everything (and yes, go to the store; I repeat: everything), and I couldn’t be happier!  But I’m going off topic. So let me swerve back on track.

IMG_2134

Basically, I raid every store near me of all things pumpkin spice. In the past couple of weeks I’ve probably sampled like, fifty different pumpkin spice foods! I know, crazy, right? But as I opened the fridge one day, I looked at my plethora of pumpkin spice-flavored foods in a new light. I saw something. Something revolutionary. What if I combined my pumpkin spice cream cheese, my pumpkin spice Greek yogurt, an egg, and some good ol’ pure pumpkin spice? Could this become a microwave pumpkin cheesecake? I decided to put this to the test.

The first step I decided to do was to create a crust, as all cheesecakes need a proper graham cracker crust. So I combined one crushed cinnamon graham cracker (the cinnamon would contribute to extra fall flavor) and some melted butter and packed it down in the bottom of a mug. This makes a warm, cinnamony, buttery, crust that adds an extra ump to this single-serving fall dessert.

IMG_2111

In a separate bowl, I combined the cream cheese, yogurt, egg, and pumpkin pie spice until no streaks remained. I poured it into my mug with the graham cracker crust, making sure the top was smooth and there was no air bubbles.

IMG_2115

I popped this mug in my microwave covered with a paper towel, as I didn’t want the mixture to explode. After one minute, the cheesecake was still quite jiggly, so I put it back in the microwave for four twenty-second intervals until set and pulling away from the mug. Then I let it sit. Yes, I know this was the hardest part! But I had to wait and place the mug in the refrigerator. Just like a regular cheesecake, this mug cheesecake must cool for several hours. (This cheesecake was not as smooth as a traditional cheesecake. Additionally, it had extra liquid that sank to the bottom. Because of this, I would recommend tipping the cheesecake out of the mug at any point after cooking to drain the extra liquid. Tip it back into the mug for consumption!) Yum!

IMG_2126

Single-Serving Pumpkin Spice Microwave Cheesecake

  • 1 cinnamon graham cracker
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 1/4 c. pumpkin spice cream cheese
  • 2 Tbsp pumpkin spice Greek yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/8 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  1. Place graham cracker in a ziplock bag and crush it into fine crumbs using your hands or a rolling-pin. Melt butter in an oversized microwave-safe mug. Add graham cracker crumbs to butter in mug and mix until butter completely coats the crumbs. Press down on the crumbs to form a crust evenly across the bottom of the mug.
  2. In a small bowl, combine cream cheese, yogurt, egg, and pumpkin spice and mix with a small whisk until batter is smooth. Pour batter into mug.
  3. Cover top of mug with a paper bowl or napkin and microwave for 1 minute. The cake should be mostly cooked, except in the center. Pause to check on it and make sure it’s not overheating. Then heat in 20-second intervals (stopping to check you cake in between) for 1 minute. Cake should be completely cooked and pulling away from the mug. YOu don’t want to microwave for the full 2 minutes at once because the batter may overheat and start popping and exploding in the microwave.
  4. Gently slide the cheesecake out of the mug by placing a big spatula underneath and inverting it onto a plate. 
  5. Let cheesecake drain and cool for a few minutes. When cheesecake is no longer too hot to touch, place in fridge to cool and set for at least 1 hour.
Leave a Reply

